The first specific Jammu & Kashmir police force came into existence in the year 1873 with one police officer known as Kotwal and 14 Thanedars for Srinagar City. This police force would control crime and take care of law and order situations with help of Chowkidars and Harkars, who were paid by the population out of their annual agricultural produce on a voluntary basis.

It was in 1913 that the state requisitioned the service of an Imperial Police (IP) officer on deputation and appointed Mr Broadway as the first Inspector General of Police in June, 1913. He continued to be Police chief up to 1917 and was followed by other IP officers.

Since then the Police in J/K has undergone several re-organizations, The employee strength of Police in J&K in the year 1889-90 was 1040, which further rose to 1570 in the year 1903 and forty years later, in 1943-44, the strength of J&K Police was 3179 and at present it has exceeded 83000 mark. The present strength of Kashmir Zone is more than 20000.



Director General of Police (DGP)

Additional Director General of Police

Inspector General of Police (IGP)

Deputy Inspector General of Police

Senior Superintendent of Police

Superintendent of Police (SP)

Additional Superintendent of Police

Assistant SP (IPS) or Deputy SP (JKPSC)

Dy. Superintendent of Police.


Inspector of Police

Sub-Inspector of Police (SI)

Assistant Sub-Inspector of Police (ASI)

Head Constable

Senior Constable


J&K Police over the years

Maharajas Policemen known as Highlanders who were recruited from Baltistan.

Copy of FIR registered in Police Station Baramulla in1895

Copy of FIR registered in Police Station Baramulla in 1907

Copy of FIR registered in Police Station Vilgamin 1941

Copy of FIR No: 57/1965 of Police Station, Budgam, regarding attack on Police Station building and looting of weapons

FIR No 15/1971 regarding hijacking of Indian Fokker Plane to Lahore which was subsequently set ablaze by the hijackers at Lahore Airport. This incident triggered the Indo-Pak war in Dec. 1971, which led to the creation of Bangladesh.

Inspection Note of Sh. G.M. Sadiq.The then Chief Minister of J&K on his visit to Police Station Kothibagh, Srinagar, on 11-04-1970.

Police Chief Wazir Paras Ram, 1901

A Police Contingent ready for presenting Guard of Honour, 1923

A Guard of Honour being presented to the First Chief Minister of J&K, Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah by JKP Personnel.

Group Photo of Kashmir Police Officers taken on the occasion of parade held on 9th November, 1933, at Police Lines Srinagar. Seen seated 4th from the left is E.G.B Peel, IP, the then IG of JKP and on his left is W.H. Archbold IP who succeeded Peel as IG in 1936.

Group photograph of Station House Officers in 1954.

Sh. G.M. Bakshi, the then Prime Minister of J&K presenting a medal to Sh. A.M. Wattali, Sr. Officer of J&K Police

Former DGP Shri M.M. Khajuria, IPS addressing a public Meeting in Police Station Dooru,Anantnag, in 1985

J&K Police Traffic Constable on duty at Lal Chowk, Srinagar c. 1949

Strength of Kashmir Police in the year 1889-90
RankStrengthMonthly Salary in Rs
Inspr. 1st Grade0140/-
Inspr. 2nd Grade03 30/-
Inspr. 3rd Grade 01 25/-
Dy. Inspr. 1st Grade 01 20/-
Dy. Inspr. 2nd Grade 21 15/-
Sergeant 1st Grade 03 112/-
Sergeant 2nd Grade 06 10/-
Sergeant 3rd Grade 34 08/-
Lance Sergeant 40 06/-
Constable 1st Grade 150 05/-
Constable 184 04/-
Total 445

Kashmir Zone was headed by a Dy. Inspector General of Police (DIG) from November 1947 till 1990. It was in 1991 that an officer of the rank of Inspector General of Police (IG) took over the charge as the head of Kashmir Zone. During their tenure the following officers served as Inspectors General of Police, Kashmir Zone:


# Name From To Picture
1 Sh. Veeranna Aivalli,IPS 18-9-1991 24-01-1992
2 Sh. A.K Suri,IPS 27-01-1992 01-01-1994
3 Sh.R.Tickoo,IPS 01-02-1994 07-02-1995
4 Sh. S.S Ali,IPS 07-02-1995 21-07-1995
5 Sh. P.S Gill,IPS 22-07-1995 06-12-1996
6 Sh. Gopal Sharma,IPS 06-12-1996 04-03-1997
7 Sh. P.S Gill,IPS 04-03-1997 14-07-1999
8 Sh. Gopal Sharma,IPS 14-07-1999 24-12-1999
9 Sh. Ashok Bhan,IPS 24-12-1999 24-11-2001
10 Sh. K. Rajendra Kumar,IPS 24-11-2001 26-10-2004
11 Sh. Javaid Mukhdoomi,IPS 26-10-2004 18-11-2005
12 Sh. K. Rajendra Kumar,IPS 18-11-2005 21-05-2006
13 Sh. S.M Sahai,IPS 21-05-2006 10-09-2008
14 Dr. B. Srinivas,IPS 10-09-2008 16-07-2009
15 Sh. Farooq Ahmad,IPS 16-07-2009 30-08-2010
16 Sh. S.M Sahai,IPS 30-08-2010 16-03-2013
17 Sh. A.G Mir,IPS 16-03-2013 17-03-2015
18 Sh. S.J.M Gillani,IPS 18-03-2015 17-05-2017
19 Sh. Munir Ahmad Khan,IPS 17-05-2017 12-02-2018
20 Sh. Swayam Prakash Pani,IPS 12-2-2018 30-12-2019
21 Sh. Vijay Kummar,IPS 30-12-2019 Present